Author: Septimus Berdmore

Author: Septimus Berdmore (1829–1906)

Alternate Name(s): Keith Home (pseudonym); Sept Owen (pseudonym)

Biography: Septimus Berdmore was born in 1829 in Chudleigh, Devon. He worked as a civil engineer until 1881. Berdmore contributed articles to the Quarterly Review and the Westminister Review which were collected in his book A Scratch Team of Essays (1883). In the 1860s, Berdmore wrote four novels: Reca Garland (1862) under the pseudonym "Keith Home"; Skating on Thin Ice (1863); Crossing the Bar (1864) under the pseudonym "Sept Owen"; and Colston (1869). All four novels show the influence of the sensation novel. In 1879 he married a German woman. He died in 1906.

References: British Census (1881); Wellesley

Fiction Titles:

  1. Reca Garland: or, The Rise and Fall of a Bank of Deposit.  2 vol.  London: T. C. Newby, 1862.
  2. Skating on Thin Ice: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: T. C. Newby, 1863.
  3. Crossing the Border.  2 vol.  London: T. C. Newby, 1864.
  4. Colston: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: T. C. Newby, 1869.

How to Cite