Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Catherine Georgina Hamilton

Author: Catherine Georgina Hamilton (1815–1891)

Alternate Name(s): C. G. H. (pseudonym)

Biography: Catherine Georgina Hamilton was born 30 April 1815 in Glasgow, the daughter of merchant Charles Hamiltion and his wife Isabella (née Campbell). Her siblings include attorney and novelist Alexander Hamilton and novelist Eliza Helen Hamilton. In her thirties, she began a literary career beginning with the novel The Curate of Linwood (1845). In total, she penned nine or more titles. She never married and lived with her parents. She died on 14 April 1891 in London.

Author Tags:

References: pers inf (Gordon Taylor); Scottish Census (1851, 1861)

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Curate of Linwood: or, The Real Strength of the Christian Ministry.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1845.
  2. Margaret Waldegrave: or, The Power of Truth.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: W. P. Kennedy, 1845.
  3. Amy Harrington: or, A Sister's Love.  1 vol.  London: James Nisbet, 1848.
  4. Constance Lyndsay: or, The Progress of Error.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: W. P. Kennedy, 1849.
  5. Norman Leslie: A Tale of Scottish History in the Sixteenth Century.  1 vol.  London: James Nisbet, 1850.
  6. Carlington Castle: A Tale of the Jesuits.  1 vol.  London: James Nisbet, 1852.
  7. The Unclaimed Daughter: A Mystery of our Own Day.  1 vol.  Bath: Binns and Goodwin, 1853.
  8. The Exiles of Italy.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: Thomas Constable, 1857.
  9. After a Dark Night--the Sun: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1880.