Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Louise Winifred Berens

Author: Louise Winifred Berens (1849–1929)

Alternate Name(s): Aureole (pseudonym); Stewart (maiden name)

Biography: Louise Winifred Berens was born in 1849 in Sparsholt, Hampshire, the fifth child of Rev. Edward Stewart, the rector of Sparsholt. Berens was the great-granddaughter of the 7th Earl of Galloway. In 1866 she married Alexander Augustus Berens of Ashby St. Ledgers, Northamptonshire. She wrote three novels: Steadfast Unto Death: A Tale of the Irish Famine of Today (1880), A Woman with a Past (1886) about an actress, and The Impressions of Aureole (1895) serialized anonymously in The World. Berens dedicated her second book to her two deceased elder brothers General Sir Herbert Stewart (died in 1885 of wounds while relieving Khartourn) and Rev. William Steward (died in 1883). Thereafter, she wrote no other books. Her husband died in 1926 and she died in 1929. Please note: Loeber conflates this author with Miss Elizabeth M. Stewart.

Author Tags:

References: Burke; Gentleman's Magazine (January 1867); Loeber; Times (21 February 1885; 23 March 1929); Who's Who (1903)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Steadfast Unto Death: A Tale of the Irish Famine of To-day.  1 vol.  London: Remington, 1880.
  2. A Woman with a Past: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1886.
  3. The Impressions of Aureole.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1895.