Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Maggie Symington

Author: Maggie Symington (1839–1912)

Alternate Name(s): Sarah Margaret Symington (maiden name); Blathwayt (married name)

Biography: Sarah Margaret Symington was born in 1839 in Hinckley, the daughter of tailor James Lindsay Symington and his wife Sarah (née Gold). Her family soon after lived in Market Harborough where Sarah and her siblings assisted in the shop. In her twenties, she began writing fiction under the name "Maggie Symington." On 1 March 1881, she married journalist Raymond Blathwayt. However, the couple only appears to have lived together a short time before permanently separating. Symington continued to write, living alone with a servant on the south coast. She died on 28 September 1912 in Bournemouth. Interestingly, she left her possessions to her servant.

References: British Census (1851, 1861, 1871, 1901); Literary Year-Book (1901); Probate

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Vernons of Holly Mount.  1 vol.  London: A. W. Bennett, 1867.
  2. The Snow Queen.  1 vol.  London: James Clarke, 1869.
  3. Nessie's Hero.  1 vol.  London: James Clarke, 1870.
  4. Working to Win: A Story for Girls.  1 vol.  London: Cassell, 1872.
  5. Bessie Gordon's Story.  1 vol.  London: James Clarke, 1874.
  6. Felicia's Dowry.  1 vol.  London: James Clarke, 1877.
  7. A Red-Rose Chain.  1 vol.  London: James Clarke, 1880.
  8. Marion Scatterthwaite: A Story of Work.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1880.
  9. Trixy: or, "Those who Live in Glass Houses Shouldn't Throw Stones".  1 vol.  London: Cassell, 1885.
  10. The King's Command: A Story for Girls.  1 vol.  London: Cassell, 1886.
  11. Seeking a City.  1 vol.  London: Cassell, 1887.
  12. Fisher Reuel: A Story of Storm and Loss and Gain.  1 vol.  London: Partridge, 1889.
  13. Bonnie Boy's Soap Bubble: A Tale.  1 vol.  London: Biggs and Co., 1892.
  14. Two Silver Keys: A Story.  1 vol.  London: Biggs and Co., 1892.
  15. Hollyberry Janet: or, The Girls of Ballyowen.  1 vol.  London: A. D. Innes, 1894.
  16. My Lost Manuscript: The Romance of a School.  1 vol.  London: William Wells Gardner, 1894.