Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Mary Jane Linskill

Author: Mary Jane Linskill (1840–1891)

Alternate Name(s): Stephen Yorke (pseudonym)

Biography: Novelist. See entry in DNB or Sutherland.

References: DNB; Sutherland

Fiction Titles:

  1. Tales of the North Riding.  2 vol.  London: Smith, Elder, 1871.
  2. Cleveden.  2 vol.  London: Henry S. King, 1876.
  3. Carl Forrest's Faith.  1 vol.  London: S. P. C. K., 1883.
  4. Between the Heather and the Northern Sea.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1884.
  5. The Magic Flute.  1 vol.  London: S. P. C. K., 1884.
  6. A Lost Son and The Grover's Daughter.  1 vol.  London: T. Fisher Unwin, 1885.
  7. The Haven under the Hill: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1886.
  8. A Garland of Seven Lilies.  1 vol.  London: S. P. C. K., 1886.
  9. In Exchange for a Soul.  3 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1887.
  10. Hagar: A North Yorkshire Pastoral.  1 vol.  London: James Clarke, 1887.
  11. Robert Holt's Illusion and Other Stories.  1 vol.  London: Ward and Downey, 1888.
  12. For Pity's Sake and The Lost Leader.  1 vol.  London: James Clarke, 1891.