Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: William Sharp

Author: William Sharp (1855–1905)

Alternate Name(s): Fiona Macleod (pseudonym)

Biography: Novelist and mystic. The pseudonym "Fiona Macleod" was a well-developed alter ego. Edited the short-lived The Pagan Review. See entry in DNB or Sutherland.

Author Tags:

References: DNB; NCBEL; Sutherland

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Sport of Chance.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1888.
  2. Children of To-morrow: A Romance.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1889.
  3. A Fellowe and His Wife.  1 vol.  London: Osgood, McIlvaine, 1892.
  4. Pharais: A Romance of the Isles.  1 vol.  London: Simpkin, 1894.
  5. The Mountain Lovers.  1 vol.  London: John Lane, 1895.
  6. The Sin-Eaters and Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Simpkin, 1895.
  7. Green Fire: A Romance.  1 vol.  London: Archibald Constable, 1896.
  8. Madge o' the Pool, The Gypsy Christ and Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Archibald Constable, 1896.
  9. The Washer of the Ford, and Other Legendary Moralities.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: P. Geddes and Co., 1896.
  10. The Laughter of Peterkin: A Retelling of Old Tales of the Celtic Wonderland.  1 vol.  London: Archibald Constable, 1897.
  11. Wives in Exile: A Comedy in Romance.  1 vol.  London: Grant Richards, 1898.
  12. Silence Farm.  1 vol.  London: Grant Richards, 1899.
  13. The Dominion of Dreams.  1 vol.  London: Archibald Constable, 1899.
  14. The Divine Adventure.  1 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1900.