Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Amelia Sophia Coates Young

Author: Amelia Sophia Coates Young (1844–1931)

Alternate Name(s): Pamela Sneyd (pseudonym); Sophia Mary Locke (pseudonym)

Biography: Amelia Sophia Coates Young was born in 1844 in Landford, Wiltshire, the daughter of John George Young, a Lisbon-born businessman. Her older sister, Harriett Young, was born in Rio de Janeiro and became a notable amateur singer and composer. Amelia's talents lay in writing: under the pseudonym "Pamela Sneyd" she wrote five novels beginning with Jack Urquhart's Daughter (1882). With Blanche Mary Loftus Tottenham, she co-authored another novel Who Wins--Loses (1893) under the joint-pseudonym "Sophia Mary Locke" (a playful combination of their names). By the late 1890s, Young seemingly gave up writing. She never married and lived with her sister in London where she died in 1931.

References: British Census (1891, 1901, 1911); pers inf (Colin Perry)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Jack Urquhart's Daughter: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: Bentley, 1882.
  2. Point Blank: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1884.
  3. The King can do no Wrong: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1886.
  4. An Ishmaelite Indeed.  2 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1893.
  5. Needs Must: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Osgood, McIlvaine, 1894.