Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Lady Watkin Williams

Author: Lady Watkin Williams (1847–1911)

Alternate Name(s): Elizabeth Lush (maiden name)

Biography: Elizabeth Lush was born in 1847 in London, the third daughter of Sir Robert Lush and Elizabeth Ann Woollacott. Her father was a barrister, author of legal works, Queen's Counsel, Judge of the Court of Queen's Bench (for which he was knighted in 1865), and Judge of the High Court of Justice. In 1865, she married the barrister Charles James Watkins Williams (1828–1884) (she was his second wife). They had three children. Watkins Williams was named a judge of the Supreme Court of Judicture and received a knighthood. After her husband's death, Lady Williams wrote two novels, the thoroughly optimistic Even Such is Life (1888) and Sybil Foster's Love Story (1897). She died in 1911.

References: British Census (1881); Times (28 July 1911)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Even Such is Life: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1888.
  2. Sybil Foster's Love Story: or, The Country Cousin.  1 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1897.