Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Elizabeth Darby Eiloart

Author: Elizabeth Darby Eiloart (1827–1898)

Alternate Name(s): Adams (maiden name); Mrs. C. J. G. Eiloart (familiar name)

Biography: Elizabeth Darby Eiloart was born in London, the only daughter of Samuel Adams. She was educated at private schools and married the solicitor Carl J. G. Eiloart in 1849. They had two children. In 1865, she published her first novel, Ernie Elton, the Lazy Boy, a children's book presumably inspired by her son, Ernest (born 1853). Eiloart followed this book with a sequel, Ernie at School, and What Came of His Going There (1867), and her first novel for adults, The Curate's Discipline (1867). Thereafter, she wrote books for boys (some of which were published in The Boy's Own Paper) and novels for adults. She died at Brighton in 1898. Her son Ernest went on to become a solicitor and wrote the pamphlet The Laws Relating to Women (1878).

References: Daily News (2 October 1849)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Ernie Elton: The Lazy Boy.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1865.
  2. The Curate's Discipline.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1867.
  3. Ernie at School: and What Came of his Going There.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1867.
  4. Johnny Jordan and his Dog.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1867.
  5. Meg.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1868.
  6. The Boys of Beechwood.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1868.
  7. Archie Blake: A Sea-Side Story.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1868.
  8. Madame Silva's Secret.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1869.
  9. From Thistles--Grapes?.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1870.
  10. St. Bede's.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1870.
  11. Cris Fairlie's Boyhood: A Tale of an Old Town.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1870.
  12. Tom Dunstone's Troubles, and How He Got Over Them.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1870.
  13. Just a Woman.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1871.
  14. Woman's Wrong.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1872.
  15. Out of Her Sphere.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1872.
  16. The Young Squire: or, Peter and his Friends.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1872.
  17. Lady Moretoun's Daughter.  3 vol.  London: Henry S. King, 1873.
  18. The Boy with an Idea.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1873.
  19. The Love That Lived.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1874.
  20. Kate Randall's Bargain: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1875.
  21. Some of Our Girls: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1875.
  22. Jabez Ebsleigh, M.P.: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1876.
  23. His Second Wife: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1877.
  24. How He Won Her: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1879.
  25. The Dean's Wife: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1880.
  26. My Lady Clare: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1882.
  27. Was it Worth the Cost?: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1883.