Group Information At the Circulating Library

Group: Cricketers

Description: The following authors all played cricket. Some, like Arthur Conan Doyle and Hesketh Hesketh-Prichard, competed at the first-class level. Barrie, in particular, organized his own amateur cricket team, the Allahakbarries. Beginning in the 1890s, there were annual Authors vs Artists matches and some Authors vs Publishers matches.

References: Anthony Bateman, Cricket, Literature and Culture: Symbolising the Nation, Destabalising the Empire (Ashgate, 2009); Kevin Telfer, Peter Pan's First XI: The Extraordinary Story of J.M. Barrie's Cricket Team (Sceptre, 2010)

  1. Barr, Robert
  2. Barrie, J. M.
  3. Bleackley, Horace William
  4. Churchward, William Brown
  5. Cochrane, Alfred John Henry
  6. Cole, George Ralph Fitzroy
  7. Collins, William Edmund Wood
  8. Doyle, Arthur Conan
  9. Fonblanque, Albany de Grenier de
  10. Hesketh-Prichard, Hesketh
  11. Hornung, Ernest William
  12. Hughes, Thomas
  13. Hutchinson, Horace Gordon
  14. Jerome, Jerome K.
  15. Kinross, Albert
  16. Le Marchant, Sir Henry Denis
  17. Lucas, E. V.
  18. Mason, A. E. W.
  19. Monkhouse, Allan Noble
  20. Moore, Frank Frankfort
  21. Pasture, Elizabeth de la
  22. Pycroft, Rev. James
  23. Rees, William Lee
  24. Robinson, Thomas Auriol
  25. Traill, William Frederic
  26. Watson, Henry Brereton Marriott
  27. White, Percy