Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Elizabeth M. Stewart

Author: Elizabeth M. Stewart (1812–1882)

Biography: Eizabeth Margaret Stewart was born on 24 January 1812 in London, the eldest daughter of Duncan Stewart, the author of an Arabic grammar, and his wife Sarah (née Croft). Her younger sisters were the novelists Agnes M. Stewart and Mary Hibbert-Ware. Though born a Protestant, at some time in the 1820s her family converted to Roman Catholicism. She never married and wrote fiction, mostly historical and all with a Catholic flavor. She died in the midst of writing her last book on 11 February 1882 in London.

Author Tags:

References: British Census (1841); Tablet (25 February 1882, 3 June 1882)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Lord Dacre of Gilsland: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: T. C. Newby, 1843.
  2. Githa of the Forest.  3 vol.  London: Edward Churton, 1845.
  3. Rodenhurst: or, The Church and the Manor.  3 vol.  London: John Mortimer, 1845.
  4. Royalists and Roundheads: or, The Days of King Charles the First.  3 vol.  London: Shoberl, 1850.
  5. Lillias Davenant: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1852.
  6. Aubrey Conyers: or, The Lordship of Allerdale.  1 vol.  London: Ingram, Cooke, and Co., 1853.
  7. Snowed Up: or, Lost on The World.  1 vol.  : [None], 1853.
  8. Tales of the City of London.  2 vol.  London: Nathaniel Cooke, 1854.
  9. The Rival Roses: A Romance of English History.  3 vol.  London: C. J. Skeet, 1855.
  10. Lady Amabel and the Shepherd Boy: or, The Recluse of Ryland Forest.  1 vol.  London: Charles Dolman, 1860.
  11. The Little Wanderers: A Swiss Tale.  1 vol.  London: Charles Dolman, 1860.
  12. Rosedale: or, The Deserted Manor-House. An English Fire-Side Story.  1 vol.  London: Bernard Douglas, 1862.
  13. All for Prince Charlie: or, The Irish Cavalier.  1 vol.  Dublin: James Duffy, 1869.
  14. The People's Martyr: A Legend of Canterbury.  1 vol.  London: D. Stewart, 1872.