Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Margaret Roberts

Author: Margaret Roberts (1833–1919)

Biography: Margaret Roberts was born in 1833 in Llanynys, Wales, the daughter of the Rev. Ellis Roberts, the vicar of Llanynys, and Charlotte Warren. Her father died in 1844 and her mother married the Rev. Harry Latham, vicar of Fittleworth. She was educated at home by her step-father. As an adult, she lived many years abroad in France, Italy, and Germany, experiences which informed much of her fiction. After writing two juvenile works, she wrote Mademoiselle Mori: A Tale of Modern Rome (1860), a novel that established her as a novelist. In addition to her nearly thirty novels, she translated foreign works and wrote books on French history and language. Despite her success, she never published under her own name. By the turn of the century, she had stopped writing. Roberts never married and died in 1919 in Montreux, Switzerland.

Author Tags:

References: Allibone; British Census (1851, 1881); Gentleman's Magazine (February 1849); Times (18 January 1919)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Summerleigh Manor: or, Brothers and Sisters.  1 vol.  London: Joseph Masters, 1857.
  2. The Two Mottoes.  1 vol.  London: John W. Parker, 1858.
  3. Mademoiselle Mori: A Tale of Modern Rome.  2 vol.  London: John W. Parker, 1860.
  4. Denise.  2 vol.  London: Bell and Daldy, 1863.
  5. Madame Fontenoy.  1 vol.  London: Mozley and Co., 1864.
  6. Sydonie's Dowry.  1 vol.  London: Bell and Daldy, 1865.
  7. On the Edge of a Storm.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1868.
  8. Tales Old and New.  1 vol.  London: Bell and Daldy, 1872.
  9. Sick and in Prison.  1 vol.  London: Bell and Daldy, 1873.
  10. The Atelier du Lys: or, An Art Student in the Reign of Terror.  2 vol.  London: Longman, 1876.
  11. Fair Else, Duke Ulrich, and Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1877.
  12. Osé: or, The Alpine Flower.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1877.
  13. In the Olden Time.  2 vol.  London: Longman, 1883.
  14. Tempest Tossed: The Story of Seejungfer.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1884.
  15. Miss Jean's Niece.  1 vol.  Derby: Bemrose and Sons, 1884.
  16. "That Child".  1 vol.  London: Hatchards, 1885.
  17. Hester's Venture.  3 vol.  London: Longman, 1886.
  18. A Child of the Revolution.  1 vol.  London: Hatchards, 1886.
  19. The Fiddler of Lugau.  1 vol.  London: Hatchards, 1887.
  20. A Little Step-Daughter.  1 vol.  London: National Society's Depository, 1887.
  21. Under a Cloud.  1 vol.  London: Hatchards, 1889.
  22. Banning and Blessing.  1 vol.  London: National Society's Depository, 1890.
  23. Lilian and Lili.  1 vol.  London: A. D. Innes, 1891.
  24. The Secret of Madame de Monluc.  1 vol.  London: Methuen, 1891.
  25. Not One of Us.  1 vol.  London: National Society's Depository, 1892.
  26. A Younger Sister.  1 vol.  London: Longman, 1892.
  27. Stéphanie's Children.  1 vol.  London: National Society's Depository, 1896.
  28. Niccolina Niccolini.  1 vol.  London: Wells Gardner, Darton, 1897.