Author: Isabella Eleanor Aylmer

Author: Isabella Eleanor Aylmer (1840–1908)

Alternate Name(s): Darling (maiden name); I. D. Fenton (pseudonym)

Biography: Isabella Eleanor Aylmer was born in 1840 in Bell's Hill, Northumberland, the daughter of George Darling. In 1857, she married army officer Capt. Fenton John Aylmer, a veteran of the Crimean War, who died relatively young in 1862. The couple had three children, including Sir Fenton Aylmer (1862–1935). Aylmer wrote several fictional and nonfictional works, including Adventures of Mrs. Colonel Somerset in Caffraria (1858) and Memoirs of a Lady in Waiting (1860). In the late 1860s, she successfully applied to the Royal Literary Fund. She died in 1908.

Author Tags:

References: RLF (case number 1779)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Adventures of Mrs. Colonel Somerset in Caffraria, During the War.  1 vol.  London: Hope, 1858.
  2. Memoirs of a Lady in Waiting.  2 vol.  London: Saunders and Otley, 1860.
  3. Alec Tomlin: or, Choose Wisely.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1873.

How to Cite