Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Albany de Grenier de Fonblanque

Author: Albany de Grenier de Fonblanque (1830–1924)

Biography: Albany de Granier de Fonblanque was born in 1830, the son of John Samuel Martin Fonblanque who came of an ancient and noble Huguenot family. He attended Tonbridge School where he played cricket. In 1853, he was called to the bar and entered the foreign service. Fonblanque served in a number of legal and judicial posts in Egypt and Constantinople and served as consul in Colombia and the United States before retiring in 1892. In the meantime, he wrote several novels beginning with The Man of Fortune (1859). In addition, he contributed to numerous periodicals. Fonblanque died in 1924 in Brighton.

Author Tags:

References: Times (27 March 1924); Wellesley

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Man of Fortune: A Story of the Present Day.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1859.
  2. The Family Lawyer.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1859.
  3. Tom Rocket.  1 vol.  London: Ward, Lock, 1860.
  4. Hector Mainwaring: or, A Lease for Lives.  1 vol.  London: Ward, Lock, 1860.
  5. A Tangled Skein.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1862.
  6. The Filibuster: A Story of American Life, and Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Ward, Lock, 1862.
  7. Cut Adrift: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1869.
  8. Give a Dog a Bad Name and---- with Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Ward, Lock, 1869.
  9. A Family Tree.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1876.
  10. Bad Luck: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1877.
  11. Filthy Lucre: A Story without a Crime.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1879.
  12. Pious Frauds: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1880.
  13. The Blackest of Lies: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Remington, 1882.
  14. Jedwood Justice: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1892.